Here we are!/¡Aquí estamos!

We started our new adventure 9 months ago with many mixed feelings. With a lot of enthusiasm for the awaiting projects but very sad for closing a stage that wouldn’t have place in our new life, as it usually happens. It was certainly not the first time that we left our house to move to the other side of the world, but unlikely from when we left Madrid – our hometown that we visit at least twice a year and where we will hopefully return for good in the near future – we knew we would no longer be residents in Singapore. With that city we left behind a routine we remember very often with much nostalgia, great friends that we miss to death, some of our usual restaurants Wahiro, Colbar and Ding Tai Fung, and a very peculiar culture full of lovely destinations where you could lose a lifetime.

Our landing in Atlanta was easier than expected, perhaps because we already had some experience in relocating at 15.000km distance, however, it took us sometime to adjust. I guess there were too many and too radical changes, but fortunately today we are settled down and full of energy to face new projects.

One of the things that surprised me the most in Atlanta is the dedication of mothers to their families and homes (and I really don’t know whether this is the same all over the country or it depends on the area). And as “when in Rome do as the Romans” here I am in my new role. And the truth is that I like my new role as a housewife, I like to take and pick up my son from school everyday, I love to have lunch with my husband (work permitting), I enjoy watching my son’s face when he shows the work we’ve done the night before to the teachers and I like to have the house tidy and cozy to enjoy it with my family and friends. I guess it reminds me of my home and my parents, whom I love so much, and their figure always present and available.

And with this adventure starts also this blog, with the intention of sharing my work and my ideas, which are no different as those from any other mother.

Crisynacho Pixlr

Hace exactamente 9 meses empezamos nuestra nueva aventura con muchos sentimientos encontrados. Con ilusión por los nuevos proyectos que nos esperaban pero con mucha pena por cerrar una etapa que como pasa normalmente ya no tendría cabida en nuestra nueva vida. Es cierto que no era la primera vez que cerrábamos una casa y nos íbamos a la otra punta del mundo con los ojos cerrados, pero a diferencia de cuando dejamos Madrid – nuestra ciudad natal a la que regresamos por lo menos dos veces al año y a la que volveremos en poco tiempo para instalarnos de forma definitiva – sabíamos que Singapur ya no sería nunca más nuestra ciudad de residencia. Con ella dejamos una rutina que recordamos con mucha nostalgia, grandes amigos a los que echamos tremendamente de menos, algunos de nuestros restaurantes habituales Wahiro, Colbar y Ding Tai Fung, y una cultura muy peculiar con maravillosos destinos en los que podrías perderte de por vida.

Nuestro aterrizaje en Atlanta fue más fácil de lo que esperábamos, tal vez porque ya teníamos cierta experiencia en las mudanzas a 15.000km de distancia, sin embargo, nuestra adaptación fue algo más complicada. Supongo que fueron demasiados cambios y muy radicales, pero afortunadamente a día de hoy estamos bien instalados y preparados para afrontar nuevos proyectos con energía.

Una de las cosas que más me ha sorprendido de esta ciudad (la verdad es que no se si aplica a todo el país o depende de cada zona) es la gran dedicación de las madres hacia sus familias y hogares. Y como “donde fueres haz lo que vieres” en este nuevo papel me encuentro. Y lo cierto es que me gusta mi nueva faceta de ama de casa, me gusta poder despertar a mi hijo y llevarle yo misma al colegio, me encanta comer con mi marido siempre que su trabajo se lo permite, disfruto con la cara de mi hijo cuando enseña a sus profesoras los trabajos que hemos hecho en casa la tarde anterior y me gusta tener la casa ordenada y acogedora para poder disfrutarla en familia y con amigos. Supongo que me recuerda a mi casa y a mis padres, a los que tanto quiero, y a su figura siempre presente y disponible para todos.

Y con toda esta aventura comienza también este blog con animo de compartir mi trabajo y mis ideas que no dejan de ser las de una madre como otra cualquiera.

5 thoughts on “Here we are!/¡Aquí estamos!

Leave a Reply

