Nathan’s birthday cake/La tarta del cumpleaños de Nathan

We celebrated Nathan’s birthday a few days ago. Nathan is the son of my friend Rosario. Rosario is one of the firs people I met when I came to Atlanta, and from the very beginning I knew we were going to connect easily. I was at the playground with my son Nacho and she too was spending the afternoon with her two children (Esperanza was still in her mother’s tummy at that time). She walked up to us when she heard us speaking Spanish and we started talking about everything and nothing in particular. From here I really want to thank her initiative and guidance to so many crucial things for a “new in town” as myself. My instincts didn’t fail and today Rosario and I are very good friends, and even though we don’t see each other as much as we would like to, we try to get together every once in a while to catch up while our children fight friendly over and over again for the same toy.

I really was thrilled when she asked me to prepare little Nathan’s cake, and of course, I put all my effort and dedication into it. He wanted a Lightning McQueen cake, a very familiar character for my as it is also my son’s idol (after Captain America, of course, that has no doubt taken over lately) so the cars modeling and the cake set up wasn’t difficult at all. The cake was a chocolate cake with a white chocolate mousse, recipe from my aunt Ana who is an expert in cakes and many other yummy and beautiful things (http://lasgalletasdeana.blogspot.com/).

Hope you like the pictures!

Image

Image

Image

Image

El otro día fue el cumpleaños de Nathan, el hijo de mi amiga Rosario. Rosario es una de las primeras personas que conocí cuando llegué a Atlanta, y desde el principio supe que íbamos a conectar con facilidad. Estaba en el parque con mi hijo Nacho, y ella, que también estaba pasando la tarde con sus dos niños (entonces Esperanza estaba todavía en la tripa de su madre) se acercó a nosotros al escucharnos hablar español. En seguida nos pusimos a hablar de todo y de nada, y desde aquí le agradezco su iniciativa y gran ayuda ya que me orientó en muchas cosas que para una recién aterrizada en cualquier ciudad eran fundamentales. Mi instinto no me falló y efectivamente a día de hoy somos buenas amigas, y aunque no nos vemos todo lo que queremos, siempre sacamos un momento para ponernos al día mientras nuestros niños se pelean una y otra vez por el mismo juguete.

Me hizo mucha ilusión cuando me pidió que preparase la tarta del pequeño Nathan, y por su puesto, puse todo mi empeño y dedicación en ella. Quería una tarta de Rayo McQueen, personaje muy presente en mi vida ya que también es el ídolo de mi hijo (después del Capitán América que indudablemente ha ganado posiciones tras varios meses viviendo en este país) así que el modelaje de los coches y la puesta en escena no fue difícil. La tarta era de bizcocho de chocolate con una mousse de chocolate blanco receta de mi tía Ana que es toda una experta en tartas y demás cosas ricas (http://lasgalletasdeana.blogspot.com/).

¡Supongo que ya habréis visto el resultado!

Leave a Reply

